Over Sea, Under Stone

11312Susan Cooper is a master storyteller.  The Dark is Rising Sequence is a favorite. But many are surprised to find that the book titled The Dark is Rising is not the first book in the series.  This one is.  But it’s one of those weird things where this one was first and written for a younger audience, than the rest of the series was conceived and written all together for a slightly more mature audience later on.  Sort of, but not quite, like The Hobbit and the rest of the Lord of the Rings books.

So yes, you can and perhaps have read The Dark is Rising sequence without ever having read the original tale.  Now is your chance to do so and to join the discussion over at the Sword & Laser Kids book club.


About Library_Jim

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s