The Journey

img86732

One thing I’d like to start doing for S&L Kids to is post about more than just the monthly book.  I assume most people checking out the Goodreads group or this blog are parents that enjoy SF/F and also enjoy passing it on to their little geeklings.  (Or are geeklings themselves!) So I hope to post about all kinds of SF/F type books and maybe even some other things here on the blog. Some of the books may end up as a monthly pick, some won’t but it’ll be a good place to look for other interesting books to share with your budding geeks.

For the Goodreads group I will stick to books mostly for the 3rd-8th grade crowd with some YA.  I figure YA gets plenty of coverage elsewhere but as my own daughter gets older I’ll probably find myself reading more of that.

But what about the pre-K through 3rd grade crowd?  Well here is where I will occasionally post about picture books and such.

This book, Journey by Aaron Becker, is a lovely recent edition to the type of picture books that foster our sense of wonder.  The idea couldn’t be simpler and owes it’s basic idea to that classic, Harold and the Purple Crayon.  A young girl, having escaped her loneliness through a drawing of a door on her bedroom wall, is captured by an evil emperor and must find a way to escape.

Unlike the Harold books, this is full of intricate and colorful illustrations that you will pore over again and again.  I guess it’s more like Where the Wild Things Are in that respect but wordless and full of seeming sweeping motion.

The best thing is this is not for any specific age.  It’s timeless and inviting to explorers of all ages. I hear he has a follow-up called Quest coming out Enjoy!

About Library_Jim

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Journey

  1. ejmam says:

    My whole family enjoyed this (I still bring home picture books, even though my boys are 13 & 15 now). I drag friends in book stores over to it (and some of them immediately buy it). I like reading it twice in a row because there is a lot of stuff you miss the first time through.

    I also love the idea of smart, wordless picture books because my older son didn’t start reading comfortably until well into 2nd grade, but he always thought of himself as a reader because we read so much together. With audio books and picture books like this, he was even reading independently and confidently before his brain finished its odd path through phonics/sight reading and he almost overnight turned into a book-a-day reading machine.

  2. Jim Randolph says:

    There are some wonderful wordless books and I try to get as many of them in my school library that I can. You did the exact right thing with the picture books and audio to grow your reader. Great job.

Leave a Reply

