The Lost Hero Wrap-Up (sorta)

Today is the last day of the month, so it’s also the last day I should post a wrap-up podcast for The Lost Hero.

Not going to happen.  Sorry.

We’ve had a month of buying and moving into a new house and this last week my lovely bride and I have traded a truly horrifying gastrointestinal bug.  Yes, I’ll sanitize this keyboard when I’m finished typing.  Ugh.

So before I get to the book, let’s pick up something I asked during the last podcast: do you think there is a right age to read a book? Cliff responded that he read Lloyd Alexander’s Westmark trilogy when they were being published.  He was in middle school then and clearly enjoyed them but says he got much more out of them when he re-read them as an adult.  So maybe there are just certain book worth re-reading when we’re older?  I don’t know but it’s something worth thinking about.

As for The Lost Hero, I’m curious to know if anyone else has read/is reading it and what you think?  We devoured the Percy Jackson series last year but my lovely bride read the first of the Kane chronicles and was less than impressed.  I wasn’t sure I’d like this new series but Harper wanted to get going on it so I thought it’d be a good pick.

In many ways, it’s actually better than the Percy Jackson series.  At least with the writing. The multiple POV style, while maybe not as successful in the Kane chronicles, really works well here and opens up the story, the characters, and the world in a way the the Percy Jackson series never quite got to.  And by throwing in the Roman as well as the greek mythology?  Well, it really fills it out and gives it something more I think.

I’m not going to get into too much detail because of the only two folks who have been responding to the forums, one of them has said he’s not reading it until the whole series is out, I believe, so I’ll leave it to you as to whether you want there to be more discussion of the book.  Just check us out on the Goodreads forum and throw us a bone!

No one has any excuse not to read and comment on the next pick.  It’s Zita the Space Girl by Ben Hatke.  It’ll take you all of 30 minutes to read and you’ll be delighted by the art.  There are two more in the series.  The third one has just come out so I haven’t seen it yet.  I’ll re-read the first two and find it before the end of next month.  Like I said earlier, if you were happy with the random assortment of aliens in the cantina scene in Star Wars then you’re going to love the feel of this story.

Sorry for the abbreviated thoughts this month.  It’s been a crazy time but it will be wonderful once we’re all settled in here at the new HQ.

Oh, and can I complain one more time about the narrator on the audio book?  I didn’t mind at all that they got a different narrator until I started listening to that guy.  It was so painful we had to stop and start reading it out loud ourselves because not one of us could take his unusual and overly precise enunciation.  The narrator for the Percy Jackson books is wonderful.  I think he’s the same guy that did those great Alcatraz and the Evil Librarians audiobooks.  But the guy for this new series?  A big nope!

If you loved The Lost Hero, here are some other books you’ll probably enjoy:

The Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull

The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan

The Sister’s Grimm series by Michael Buckley

The Peter and the Starcatchers series by Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry

Thanks everyone, and keep on reading!

By the way, I haven’t picked anything past July so if you have any suggestions, throw them up on the Goodreads forum.

About Library_Jim

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

