Welcome!

Image

S&L name used w/permission

Welcome to the Sword & Laser Kids website.  This is where I will post podcasts, reviews, interviews, lists, links and anything else I feel like related to the world of science fiction and fantasy for kids.

I joined the Sword & Laser science fiction and fantasy book group on Goodreads a couple years ago.  Every once in a while I would notice people asking for recommendations for their children or younger relatives. Being a school librarian, I felt this was my one professional area of expertise!

I’ve been considering for a while how to best share my knowledge of these books and this age group.  I even spoke with Tom & Veronica (the hosts of the S&L podcast, video show and Goodreads Group). They graciously told me to go for it.  I decided rather than jump in whole hog with a video show or podcast, I’d just do a monthly post on the S&L forum.

I was quickly encouraged by the commenters there to go ahead and try doing a podcast and to set up a separate Goodreads Group, Sword & Laser Kids.

The Goodreads Group is set up (with much help from Rob!) and I’m in the process of picking a SF book for March and rounding up some students to do a podcast with.  We’ll see how it goes. 

Please feel free to comment, add to the Goodread forums and let me know what you think.  Any input is appreciated!

About Library_Jim

School librarian, dad, hubby, geek.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome!

  1. Charlotte says:

    I also focus on science fiction and fantasy for kids, and I will go add you to my reader forthwith!

Leave a Reply

